Workweek Trends That Are Office Appropriate

by juliannecronin

The following is a guest post by Julianne Cronin of The Wink.

As someone who loves taking risks with my own personal style, working in a corporate office environment is tough. Ideally, I’d like to be able to express myself through my clothing without a weekly trip down to HR. I’ve definitely made my fair share of office fashion faux pas in the past, but I think I’ve finally struck a balance of appropriate and stylish. Read on for my five no-fail, modern, office-appropriate pieces!

The Textured Shift Dress

I wore this one to work today! Style it with a pair of opaque black tights and heeled Chelsea boots for a fun nod to the Sixties. Shift dresses can err on the short side, so make sure to get one that at least reaches your fingertips so you don’t accidentally flash your coworkers while fixing the paper jam at the copier.

asos-shift-dress

image via

The Turtleneck + Trouser

The turtleneck-and-trouser combo is one of my favorites to wear to the office. Find a thin turtleneck in a dark color and tuck it into a pair of slim trousers for a sleek and streamlined office-appropriate outfit. Alternatively, you could tuck the turtleneck into a pair of wide-legged trousers for a different look. Basically, the turtleneck is the anchor of the outfit – tuck it into pretty much anything and you’re golden.

turtleneck-and-trousers

image via

The Patent Loafer

Pick up a pair of shiny black patent loafers and they’ll quickly become your favorite work shoes. In fact, I wear mine so often I just keep them under my desk to slip on if my feet get tired of my pumps. They look so retro chic paired with a pair of cropped trousers. Oh hey, little Audrey Hepburn! 😉

patent-loafers

image via

The Structured Peplum

Peplums can walk the line of looking too fashion-forward for the office, but pick one up in a solid neutral and structured material and prepare to rake in the compliments. If you’re conscious about wearing a sleeveless top at the office, make sure you get one with sleeves – this type of top is the shining star of the outfit and doesn’t work underneath a cardigan.

structured-peplum

image via

The Velvet Blazer

Skip those frumpy polyester blazers and rock one in a rich velvet. The velvet blazer adds depth and a hint of luxe while still looking professional and polished. Velvet blazers look best in jewel tones, like dark green, burgundy, or navy. Just make sure to keep the lint roller close by – these bad boys attract fuzzies like no one’s business!

velvet-blazer

image via

Dressing for the office doesn’t have to be a chore. Don’t fall prey to frumpy office clothes and pick up these super stylish and office-appropriate duds!

What are some of your go-to outfits for the office?